Planners

Planners
Planners

Scrapbooking

Scrapbooking
Scrapbooking

Party

Party
Party

Guest Designer: Emily Powers

I can't even begin to explain how our next guest designer, photographer and digital scrapbooker, Emily Powers has blessed me with this week's feature. Emily will not only inspire you artisticly but encourage your soul. Enough said. Let Emily say it as only she can...


John Newton once wrote, “I am not what I ought to be, I am not what I want to be, I am not what I hope to be in another world; but still I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of god I am what I am.” I’m a mom, a wife, an artist, a dog lover, a photographer, a writer, an eternal optimist, a teacher, a limping worshiper, a storyteller, a dreamer, an entrepreneur, a night owl, and a bibliophile. I’m spontaneous, determined, loyal, whimsical, smart, eclectic, organized, passionate, creative, generous, ordinary, and resourceful. Mostly, I’m just me, Em.

I’m inspired by my family, particularly my husband and daughter. Matt is my heartbeat. We’re high school sweethearts and we’ve been best friends since the 10th grade. It’s stirring to wake up to your soul mate every day. My daughter, Addelyne Raine, is four-and-a-half. She’s a 3’6” adventure. If Matt is my heart, Addy is my soul. She’s taught me to live moment-by-moment with my eye’s wide open.


My Abba inspires me most of all.

"Welcome, child," he said.


"Aslan," said Lucy, "you're bigger."


"That is because you are older, little one," answered he.


"Not because you are?"


"I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger."


"For a time she was so happy that she did not want to speak."

(From Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis)

I started digital scrapbooking and experimenting with photography in January of 2006, six months after my daughter was born. She was my creative catalyst. Every day she changed, grew, moved on to something new and memories slipped between the cracks. I think it’s important to look back at where we’ve been in order to see where we are going. This is one of the primary reasons that I document our journey through photography, art and words. One day, Addelyne will look back. She will know that she was loved and wanted from the very beginning. She’ll be able to trace the themes and stories that crisscross her life. She’ll know where she’s been and that will set her free to see where she’s going.





My style is eclectic and artsy.




A few of the places I love to pop in and visit every day.

A Beautiful Mess - http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/

Cakies - http://mycakies.blogspot.com/

Decor8 - http://decor8blog.com/

Holy Experience - http://www.aholyexperience.com/

How About Orange - http://howaboutorange.blogspot.com/

Lushlee - http://www.lushlee.com/

Poppytalk - http://poppytalk.blogspot.com/

Print & Pattern - http://printpattern.blogspot.com/

The Purl Bee - http://www.purlbee.com/

[I] Love Life - http://lovelife.typepad.com/my_weblog/


A few more...

Cafe Cartolina - http://cafecartolina.blogspot.com/

Erin Vey - http://www.erinvey.com/bark/

Jinky Art - http://jinkyart.com.au/blog/

Tara Whitney - http://tarawhitney.com/justbeblogged/

Share Some Candy - http://www.sharesomecandy.com/

Swiss Miss - http://www.swiss-miss.com/

Shannon Sewell - http://www.shannonsewell.com/theblankpage/




Visit Emily at her blog, Oh Snap! You can also follow Emily at her photography website, Twitter, and on Facebook. To check out more of her digital products visit her shop at Oscraps Store.

Create Well: One day, your family will look back at your pages. They will know that they were loved and wanted from the very beginning. They will be able to trace the themes and stories that crisscross their lives. They will know where they have been and that will set them free to see where they are going.

6 comments

  1. Wow...what an inspirational article. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. wow, what a woman! Thanks for some great inspiration

    ReplyDelete
  3. would love to view her website OH SNAP but it says it's password protected! any ideas?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Her blog is protected now. Not sure if it is under construction. Try her website to get a hold of her if you can.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comment!